The River’s Secret by Raymond Roy #writephoto


“Si Señor Martin, everything is prepared for your great adventure en la mañana”,

“Gracias Arturo”, “Buenos Noches and Good Night. ”

The Rio Secreto (Secret River) Adventures in the Yucatán peninsula. Spelunking on our honeymoon with my beautiful bride, Jenny. How could I be so lucky ?

The rising Mexico Sun was like a red tipped sea urchin, every blink elongated a piercing spike into your cornea.

Sitting in the back of the open Jeep, the sun was eclipsed periodically by the bouncing of our guide, Arturo’s body as he struggled to steady himself while we trekked over rough terrain.

Being a special honeymoon package, the resort had packed a picnic basket that was at our feet. I saw goosebumps form on Jenny’s fair skinned arms from the dewy cool desert air. Looking into her eyes, I envisioned a great life with the woman of my dreams. Jenny’s contented smile made my heart race.

The trailing rooster tail dust plume following us, caught up and drizzled “desert chalk” as we arrived at the cave entrance. “We are Here Señor Martin.”.

“Honey look at this place, its paradise”. Jenny was beaming. I just loved this woman. “Martin dear, let me get the camera out.. ”

Arturo jumped in,” That won’t be needed my Friends” .

Suddenly, his warm cheeky smile transformed to an ashen pock marked frown. Pulling from under the drivers seat, the blueing on the muzzle of the .357 Ruger, spoke volumes of their once amicable guide’s facial metamorphosis.

Keeping full eye contact he reached under the linen cloth in the picnic basket, pulled out an apple, and with a loud crunch sank in his teeth. With juice running down the side of his face.”Por Favor, I am going to need you to strip down to your underwear”directing with the gun” and leave all your belongings in the Jeep!

Written for Sue Vincent’s #writephoto Thanks for hosting Sue!
#writephoto

6 Comments

  1. Sue Vincent says:

    Tht’s a magnificent photo you have used as your header image! great story too Thanks for joining in this week.

    1. goroyboy says:

      Thank you Sue:) initially did some research about spelunking in Mexico. That is an image of Rio Secreto which is a real place. Peace to you.

      1. Sue Vincent says:

        I would love to see it.

  2. Pamela Morse says:

    No stinking badges…..I have spent much time in Mexico…well done!!

    1. goroyboy says:

      Gracias Pamela 🙂 I appreciate your kind comment

Leave a Comment