The Dropoff:100 Word Flash Fiction 


The Drop Off 

Leaning against my car, it was warm from the long drive. Like always we had stopped for ice cream on the way. 

“Go long Boy”!

I tossed him a Nerf football. Giggling, he missed It, tumbling head over heels. 

“Hit me son, I’m open”.  

“Son, your moms here”. 

“Give me a hug, be a good boy”. 

“Dad loves you”. “Big Hug”. 

“Love you too Dad” 

“See you in two weeks”. 

They drive away.

Once again the silence comes, you know you will do everything in your power to make sure that child knows you love him. 

Word Count=99

Peace-

Raymond Roy

3 of my 5 beautiful children. They mean the world to me.
Friday Fictioneers is a weekly photo-prompted 100 word writing challenge. Based on a photo prompt, the challenge is to pen a work of 100 words or less. If you’re interested in joining, or would like to read Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog; Here To read more stories based on the prompt (above) click Here

34 thoughts on “The Dropoff:100 Word Flash Fiction ”

  1. This is a poignant piece of writing, about love and loss and love. There are so many complicated elements in the end of a marriage, but the love for our children is certainly the hardest! This really pulled me in and touched me.

    A small writing note: I had a hard time, in places, keeping track of who was speaking. Aside from that, it is just beautiful! Sorry it’s taken me so long to read and respond–– plate too full! :-p

Leave a Reply

